Sunday, August 7, 2011

How to deal with a crazy drunk mother in law?

My live-in boyfriend and I have been together for 10 years this coming April. We have lived together for the past 8 years. I guess you could say our relationship is perfect...other than is controling, psychotic, not to mention alchoholic mother in law. The only fights we ever have are about his mother, and the way she treats our relationship, as well as the way she treats me. In the past 10 years she has called me every name in the book, , drama-queen, slut, fat-***....which I am non of these things. She drinks from 11am to about 1 or 2 am some nights. She treats her daugter (my future sister-in-law) horribly, not to mention my boyfriends niece also gets the brunt of this womans wrath! There was a confrontation back in November (12 days before Thanksgiving) between her and I. My Uncle ped away in Ocotber and my Grandmother is 83 years old and took his death pretty hard. I was the one making all the arrangements for his final resting, I felt that night, like I had been so busy for the past couple weeks that I hadnt had time to grieve. At this point I wasnt aware that my mother-in-law still harbored ill feelings toward me, so I felt like I could open up to her....big mistake!! She bit my head off telling me how since I hadnt talked about him to her in the past ten years, that I was over-reacting and acting like a drama queen. The fact of the matter was, was that my Uncle wasnt a good person, and I didnt see him on a regular basis, but that doesnt mean I didndt love him. It resulted into a huge argument and with her calling me a Skitzophrenic and that she was tired of my family drama...family drama= my uncle's ping. I never went to Thanksgiving, My boyfriend went and had dinner with his family and then met me at my moms for our dinner. I didnt see her till Christmas Eve at my boyfriends Grandmothers house, everythig went fine, I basically kept my distance from her, but made sure that when I got there, I walked up to her, hugged her and told her Merry Christmas. We spent a couple hours with them and his faily ohn Christmas Day and for New Years, we had our next fight!! I had decided to have dinner at our house for my mother, step-father and brother, she called the night before and asked if we had any plans. My boyfriend told her that we were just staying home and that my mom was coming for dinner. She hung up on her son!!! She then called back 2 hours later and told my boyfriend that I was ruining her family and that I am nothing but a !! Bottom line, my boyfriends birthday was Feb. 1st so we had to have her over to our house for his birthday. She of course, was on her best behavior, but then for Superbowl, the mother-in-law from hell reared her ugly head again! After everyone had left and we had a AMAZING night, what with the Packers winning the Superbowl :) She was out on my courtyard with me smoking a cigarette and proceeded to tell me that my relationship to her son doesnt mean anything because we arent married and we have no children. I told her that our relationship is none of her buisness...we are adults ( 26 & 28) and that I didnt appriciate what she was saying to me in my home and I got up and went inside to where my boyfriend and my father in law to be where...she came in shortly after me, saying how she cant talk to me because I am a drama queen...I told her that we are adults and she can not control our lives and that if she didnt like it she could leave my hhouse. She laughed in my face basically and told me that she was his mother and she did have control over her son. My boyfriend threw her out and hasnt talked to her since. I dont know what to do anymore! I feel that everyine has thier breaking point. When she used to yell at me, I would just cry an run away. But I cant do that anymore, something inside of me snaps and I have to tell this woman exactly how I feel when she attacks me like that! I am so happy that I have a boyfriend who sticks up for and our relationship. The fact of the matter is we would be married if we had the money for the type of wedding we want, but we are just saving and saving for when that day comes. I feel when I have children I wont be able to take my child around this woman. I really need some advice...

No comments:

Post a Comment